Dynamic app shortcuts using AppShortcutsProvider and configurable AppIntent

Hello everyone,

I want to add preconfigured app shortcuts for my app using an AppShortcutsProvider implementation. I have been following this demo from WWDC22: https://developer.apple.com/wwdc22/10170

All looks pretty straight forward.

However, I would like the preconfigured shortcuts to be based on the state of the data in the app: adding one shortcut for every user-entered item in a list.

Now, this might be due to the fact that I'm a Swift novice, but I can't figure out how to do that from a AppShortcutsBuilder property as I can't create the AppShortcut instances in a for loop. I have failed to find any resources online on this. I assume I would need the ForEach equivalent of the ViewBuilder? Is anything like that available for AppShortcutsBuilder?

I have also stumbled on this: https://developer.apple.com/documentation/sirikit/offering_actions_in_the_shortcuts_app

But this solution seems to only work with INIntents rather than AppIntents. Is there a setShortcutSuggestions equivalent for AppIntents that I could call when the contents of my list change?

Replies

If you look at the definition of AppShortcutsProvider, you see it a {get} and it uses @AppShortcutsBuilder for special formatting of the shortcuts. So, you'll have to eternalize your conditional definition of appshortcuts.

@available(macOS 13.0, iOS 16.0, watchOS 9.0, tvOS 16.0, *)
public protocol AppShortcutsProvider {

@AppShortcutsBuilder static var appShortcuts: [AppShortcut] { get }

/// The background color of the tile that Shortcuts displays for each of the app's App Shortcuts.
    static var shortcutTileColor: ShortcutTileColor { get }
}

Here's one way to accomplish this:

struct EventManagerShortcuts: AppShortcutsProvider {

static var shortcutTileColor: ShortcutTileColor = .lime
    // Max 10 shortcut actions per App. We need to make them dynamic by role and condition.
    static var appShortcuts: [AppShortcut] {