Access child components in USDZ with XCode?

I am fairly new to ios development, and i have a rather simple question (i guess):

I exported an FBX model from blender with attached child elements (some empty axis). I need those transforms for a certain purpose in my app. However, they won't show up when im placing my model entity in the AR Scene and try to access it's child elements. However, they are showing up in the preview view in xcode when i click on the model file.

Can someone please explain why this is and how I can access them? Would be lovely. Thanks for your help in advance!

Accepted Reply

crap. this stupid site removed everything i had typed before i was finished.

anyway. i never used realitykit. but it seems you can access your hierarchy like this

modelEntity.model.mesh.contents.isntances, where instances is a collection (meshInstanceCollection) and you can access the members by string subscript which is the name of the nodes as a path name. for example

modelEntity.model.mesh.contents.isntances["Vase_FP/mod(i can't see this in your screengrab)/FP2"]

or you can iterate through the meshInstanceCollection with its methods mentioned in the documentation. there is also modelEntity.model.mesh.contents.models, but it came up with no visible descriptions on my console so i don't know what it does.

anyway, i hope this gets you closer.

edit: yes you had to go in the nested components, which is .model

• Many thanks! I thought about going down that road, but it seemed kinda weird. :D But it makes total sense when i think about it.

I tried it and it debugs:

Instance(id: "/Vase_FP/model/model_geometry-0", model: "/Vase_FP/model/model_geometry", transform: simd_float4x4([[100.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0], [0.0, -1.1920929e-05, -99.99999, 0.0], [0.0, 99.99999, -1.1920929e-05, 0.0], [2.0692042e-07, 0.0, -1.0926352e-06, 1.0]]))