Importing an unordered set of objects which reference each other?

BACKGROUND

I am building an application for macOS. No existing users, so I can target arbitrary versions, but I'm not a paying developer yet, so no beta access.

This application works with an API provided by a remote server I do not control. This API provides a lot of objects with various types (for the purposes of this discussion, let's limit them to user and group). Each object is identified by a UUID. The type of the object is an attribute within the object, not some intrinsic aspect of how the object is structured. I can't tell what kind of object a given UUID represents ahead of time.

Groups have a 'members' attribute which is given to me as a list of UUIDs. Groups may contain other groups. The list of UUIDs comes in a stable order from fetch to fetch, but that order is not necessarily predictable (I think it depends on the order the user added the objects to the group). Further, when I get the list of all groups, they come in an order which is also stable, but also unpredictable.

I'm trying to import these objects into Core Data. The problem I'm running into is when groups reference each other. Sometimes, the inner group comes before the outer group in the API call result, and everything is fine. For other group pairs, sometimes the outer group comes first, so the inner group won't exist when I'm trying to build the reference. Effectively a race condition, even though the data is processed serially.

MY QUESTIONS