Style transfer models

I’m a visual artist / developer who uses style transfer as one of the important tools in my visual tool kit. After a quick test on Catalina I love the speed and ease of use that Create ML provides. And want to try out the create ML style transfer. And the idea of doing some programming to ramp up output and extend the search for visual results is a nice additional idea. I want to get started.

Background: I am using a much loved older Macintosh laptop without significant graphic acceleration as my daily driver. And want to start using these tools during the beta period before Apple Silicon is released to the general public.

Question: Until the Apple Silicon devices are released, what do folks recommend in terms of hardware to work with these tools. At this point I have to do this on a personal budget with a reasonable dollar outlay over time.

I’ve considered:
  • Requesting the Mac Mini with Apple Silicon, and then look at options when official hardware becomes available.

• Getting a regular Intel Mac Mini and adding an eGPU if CPU does not cut it.

• Getting current 16” i7 MacBook Pro and up specking the built in GPU.

• Giving up on Mac OS and specking a gaming Laptop with Nvidia GPU and Linux or Windows and using python and fast.ai

• Doing work in the cloud. ( I like this the least because I can’t easily control dollar outlay.)

Unknowns:
  • I’m not clear how much horse power the visual style transfer models actually take to run. I’ve seen some discussions on moving model training to Nvidia in some documentation. Which sounds like out of the Apple ecosystem. So I’m confused a bit. At WWDC I saw Macs doing style transfer however no specs were mentioned.

What hardware would you choices to create art with Style Transfer.

—Tom

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.