Developing iOS 13 app on Xcode 12 beta?

I'm a new developer who has never gone through the transition from one major release of iOS to another. I've been finishing up work on an app whose deployment target is iOS 13.2. Any tips on how to balance things between now and the fall? In particular, I need to do three things:
  1. I want to finish my app and release it, which I can do entirely on Xcode 11, and not have to worry about iOS 14 at all. So that's easy :)

2. I want to test my app against iOS 14 to see how it will run. I assume I need to do this in the beta version of Xcode 12? Can I do my iOS 13 development in Xcode 12 as well, or will I need to go back and forth between two versions of Xcode? And will Xcode 12 try to automatically change my app to iOS 14 when I open it?

3. I'll want to start preparing an iOS 14 version of the app for the fall. I'm the way to do that is to branch my code in git and open that branch in Xcode 12? Any tips or best practices on how to do that?

Thanks for the help

Replies

You will have to go back and forth between Xcode GM and Xcode beta, apps can't be submitted to the App Store from Xcode beta. Having a separate branch for iOS14/Xcode 12 is pretty standard! Just make sure the changes you make in your main branch are continually getting merged back into that branch too. Also new additions to SwiftUI are backwards capable with iOS 13 so you won't have to necessarily bump up your deployment target to iOS 14 when fall comes and you can always wrap iOS 14 features in an available conditional.
The new additions to SwiftUI are marked iOS 14+ only - you mentioned they're backward compatible, any particular source for this?
Hi,

you can't submit any apps with beta versions of our developer tools but you can test that your app is ready for iOS 14 when it ships. So I think the answers to your specific questions are:
  1. For the release process stay with Xcode 11 and do all your development and release from there.