Did Xcode 8.3 update eliminate the basic AppDelegate project template?

Hello all, I'm new to the whole apple development scene, struggeling a bit as I'm trying to learn Objective-C Cocoa developemnt. I'm using an older book that is a bit of our sync with Xcode version but so far has been liveable.

Tonight I updated Xcode to Version 8.3 (8E162) and I seem to have lost the ability to create simple applications that only include the AppDelegate templage and the MainMenu.xib. Now it seems like your only choice is to create a storyboard or document based application, and both have these new ViewController classes to deal with.

I'm certainly not resistant to learning somthing new, but this change pretty much fustrates the process of following along with my book's examples, etc.

Is there any way (short of uninstalling and finding an older version) of forcing Xcode to go back to the old behavior?

Thanks

Accepted Reply

I noticed this also. You can "create" an old-style single window-base app with the new 8.3 as follows:

1. create a mac os x app using the Cocoa application template (which will be story board based)
  2. delete the storyboard xlb file and viewcontroller swift file from the project (move to trash option with DELETE)
  3. in the project info area, delete the NSMainStoryBoard entry
  4. add new file to the project: choosing MainMenu as file type
  5. in the MainMenu.xlb, add a window
  6. back in the project info section, add "Main NIB file base name" key entry with value MainMenu (to do this just click on + for any entry and then scroll down to find the Main nib file base name key and select it)
  7. run the project - it should work as the older single window-base template did

You can then add more UI stuff, etc. as before.

If you need to customize the AppDelegate behavior, add Object to yoiur MainMenu.xlb file and change its class to AppDelegate; then add a new Referencing Outlet to this object which you will connect to File Owner Delegate outlet.