Consultant wants my Developer Apple ID and Password?!?

I'm new to the world of software development. I'm a long time businessman and Mac user. Also long time iPad user. Now I've just enrolled in the Apple Development program.

The venture at hand is a mobile app to help the field team of my expanding business. Stage of development is "almost ready" for physical field testing on iPads. But for the last 12 months my previous app consultants had simply sent IPA files and weblinks for me to download and install the early rudimentary builds in my personal iPad for reviewing and testing.

Now my new consultant is also an outsourced individual like before. He seems competent enough. He will take care of all the actual coding of the mobile app. Then as owner and creator I do the general design for functionality, graphic appearance, user experience, etc. I review the consultant's build and send feedback for changes.

But new consultant is now asking for my Apple ID and password to send his first build!? Does not sound right. Surely I don't know left from right as a newbie here. And maybe he's also not familiar enough with how much access he really needs to ITunes Connect or TestFlight or whatever. But heck, might as well give him my credit card credentials. And many others like him also as for Apple ID and password. WTH?

Suggestions? Advice? I'd otherwise have to wait 'til Monday to call Apple Developer Support.

• Yea legit consultants will never request your user id and password for anything. Get help from an experienced, legit consultants here: https://consultantvue.co/small-business-consulting/

Add a Comment

Replies

he shouldn't need your password only your appleID to add you to TestFlight as a beta tester. what it sounds like anyway.

NEVER GIVE ANYONE YOUR APPLEID CREDENTIALS!

Sorry for the shouting but it is that important.

If they are asking for them, they don't know what they are doing.

I already feel that way — that he shouldn't need my password.