Catalina: how do I determine why Gatekeeper is rejecting a signed executable?

We have a multi-platform suite of command-line executables and libraries that we ported to Mac; I'm new to Mac development. The file layout was

/Applications/

• (company folder)/
    • (our UI).app
    • (product name)/
      • bin/
        • ...executalbes...
      • lib/
        • ...dylibs...
      • (other stuff)/...

This was shipped in a DMG that was codesigned, as was the app. This worked OK until Catalina.

Now on Catalina, we have codesigned all the executables, dylibs, apps (including ones nested in the top-level app's framework), frameworks, and the DMG itself. When we notarize it the resulting JSON log lists no issues. However, when I run any of our executables that depends on one of our dylibs I get a pop-up telling me the "developer cannot be identified". Even though it has been signed and notarized OK. Running codesign with -dvvv option includes the following:

• SHA-256 hash choice
  • list of Authority entries terminating in Apple Root CA
  • TeamIdentifier entry
  • Timestamp
  • Runtime: 10.13.0

Question How can I fix this, or at least get Gatekeeper to tell me why it's not accepting this file? Maybe a log, or an equivalent of spctl --assess for files rather than apps?

Observations

• This only happens when
      • the OS is Catalina
      • it's under the /Applications folder
      • outside of /Applications (e.g. in a folder on desktop) it only happens sometimes (and sometimes it claims a dylib can't be loaded on first attempt, then succeeds if tried a moment later)
      • the executable depends on one or more of our dylibs (standalone ones run OK)
      • the executable has the com.apple.quarantine xattr set
        • I've tried to mix'n'match between clean and downloaded (i.e. quarantine-xattr'd files) and the problem only arises if the executable is quarantined; it doesn't care if a non-quarantined executable loads a quaratined dylib