[Swift] How to make a UITableView static cell segue to a ViewController within a Tab Bar View

Hello community!

Before I explain my question, please understand I'm very new to Swift. I'm very sorry in advance if I ask for clarification or need a little more help. Also, as much sample code as possible please! 🙂

So, I've got a storyboard. Within it, I have a Tab Bar Controller holding 3 seperate ViewControllers; HomeViewController, Page1ViewController, and Page2ViewController. They each have their own seperate Navigation Controllers as well.
So, the Tab Bar Controller creates 3 tabs (Home, Page 1 and Page 2).

On HomeViewController I have a Navigation Controller as it's root, and the actual ViewController contains a UITableView. I have set 2 Prototype cells with labels of "Page 1" and "Page 2" respectively. I am trying to achieve it so when the user taps on cell 1 ("Page 1") it will segue to the Page1ViewController AND change the Tab Bar controller to indicate it is on Page 1.

And the same for cell 2; user taps on cell 2 ("Page 2") it will segue to the Page2ViewController AND change the Tab Bar controller to indicate it is on Page 2.

I haven't got any code as of currently. A friend supplied me some sample code however I ran into countless errors and it was just too confusing.

I hope someone can help me here as this app needs to be more-or-less completed very soon!

Much appreciated!!

Accepted Reply

This is what I did in a mockup, and it seems to behave as you describe.

It is difficult to send the whole project here, if you want to drop an email here for a moment, I will send the whole project.

Here is the code of the HomeViewController, with the tableView

import UIKit

class HomeTableViewController: UITableViewController {

override func viewDidLoad() {
        super.viewDidLoad()
    }

// MARK: - Table view data source

override func numberOfSections(in tableView: UITableView) -> Int {
        return 1
    }