What is the proper use of UIResponder.undoManager (Swift 4)

I'm a newbie with Swift and iOS, so be gentle, please. 😉 (I have 20+ years of writing GUI-based Java apps and extensive design background with C++, so I'm not a newbie at programming in general.) I hope I haven't provided too much detail here. I'm trying to be concise, but also trying to explain what bases I've already covered.

I'm try to parse the documentation for UIResponder.undoManager found here because it doesn't seem to be working for me: https://developer.apple.com/documentation/uikit/uiresponder/1621122-undomanager

It sounds like there's a runtime stack of undoManager objects maintained by the UIResponder code (a superclass of UIView and thus part of all views). This stack should be searchable by simply invoking self.undoManager:

"When you request an undo manager, the request goes up the responder chain and the

UIWindow
object returns a usable instance."

So if I have a view controller that is at the top of a UINavigationController stack (i.e. is the currently visible view), I should be able to access

self.undoManager and that will invoke my superclass's computed property, which walks the runtime stack looking for the relevant UndoManager object.

I'm not seeing that behavior. Here's my structure:

UITabBarController at the top (here is where I override undoManager and return a private UndoManager object; I also override canBecomeFirstResponder to return true)

viewDidAppear() calls beginFirstResponder() (which, as I understand it, adds the current object to the runtime stack, described above)

-- UINavigationController (activated by storyboard segue for the currently selected tab)

-- -- UITableViewController (root view controller for the nav controller; this is where I access self.undoManager)