Running SimpleTunnel as MacOS app

I am attempting to learn more about the Network Extensions provided using the SimpleTunnel example since I am trying to develop a macOS per app vpn. The SimpleTunnel readme states "The SimpleTunnel OS X targets require the OS X 11.0 SDK or newer." I am new to XCode/swift and was wondering is that means that the SimpleTunnel example can be run as a MacOS app. If so, what exactly do I have to do in XCode to make it run. If not, is there an example of Network Extensions usage for a MacOS app?

Accepted Reply

SimpleTunnel does not include code for a macOS VPN client. However, the Network Extension provider architecture is available on macOS, and it is relatively straightforward to create a per-app VPN client (either an app proxy provider or a packet tunnel provider in per-app VPN mode) that shares the vast majority of its code between the two platforms.

IMPORTANT Not all Network Extension providers are supported on macOS. App proxy and packet tunnel providers are supported on both macOS and iOS. Content filter and DNS proxy providers are iOS only right now.

The SimpleTunnel readme states "The SimpleTunnel OS X targets require the OS X 11.0 SDK or newer."

This is referring to the

tunnel_server
target within the project, which builds a macOS command-line tool that acts as a VPN server that you can connect to using the SimpleTunnel iOS app.

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!”
Apple Developer Relations, Developer Technical Support, Core OS/Hardware

let myEmail = "eskimo" + "1" + "@apple.com"

Replies

SimpleTunnel does not include code for a macOS VPN client. However, the Network Extension provider architecture is available on macOS, and it is relatively straightforward to create a per-app VPN client (either an app proxy provider or a packet tunnel provider in per-app VPN mode) that shares the vast majority of its code between the two platforms.