Is the code in 'Building a custom peer-to-peer protocol' insecure?

I'm new to Networking, so forgive me if this is a silly question:

In the sample code, Building a custom peer-to-peer protocol, TLS is configured as follows:

// Create TLS options using a passcode to derive a pre-shared key.
	private static func tlsOptions(passcode: String) -> NWProtocolTLS.Options {
		let tlsOptions = NWProtocolTLS.Options()

let authenticationKey = SymmetricKey(data: passcode.data(using: .utf8)!)
		var authenticationCode = HMAC<SHA256>.authenticationCode(for: "TicTacToe".data(using: .utf8)!, using: authenticationKey)

let authenticationDispatchData = withUnsafeBytes(of: &authenticationCode) { (ptr: UnsafeRawBufferPointer) in
			DispatchData(bytes: ptr)
		}

sec_protocol_options_add_pre_shared_key(tlsOptions.securityProtocolOptions,
												authenticationDispatchData as __DispatchData,
												stringToDispatchData("TicTacToe")! as __DispatchData)
		sec_protocol_options_append_tls_ciphersuite(tlsOptions.securityProtocolOptions,
													tls_ciphersuite_t(rawValue: TLS_PSK_WITH_AES_128_GCM_SHA256)!)
		return tlsOptions
	}

The sample code touts the connection as secure ("...uses Bonjour and TLS to establish secure connections between nearby devices"), but to my untrained eye it doesn't seem so.

My reasoning is as follows: If I adapt this code as-is, so connections between two instances of my app use SymmetricKeys derived from the four-digit passcode, then wouldn't my encryption be easy to break by an adversary who sends 0000...9999 and records corresponding changes in the encryption, exposing my app to all sorts of attacks?

The sample uses the passcode to validate the connection (host user shows client user the passcode, which is manually entered), which is a feature I would like to keep in some form or another, which is why this is causing so many headaches.