How to limit keychain item search in particular domains

I am new to security framework. I want to access items only in dynamic keychain for smartCards. And just user keychains in case of some other scenario.

But SecKeychainOpen,SecKeychainGetPath and SecKeychainCopyDomainSearchList are deprecated. How do I make sure the secItemCopyMatching only looks for items in specific type of keychain.

Replies

macOS’s modern smart card integration doesn’t work through separate keychains. That mechanism is intimately tied to the whole file-based keychain model, which is why you’re hitting these deprecation warnings. Rather, smart card credentials are accessible through the data protection keychain. See TN3137 On Mac keychain APIs and implementations for more background on this terminology.

If you search DevForums for kSecAttrAccessGroupToken you’ll a few examples where I show how to access token-based credentials.

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!” @ Developer Technical Support @ Apple
let myEmail = "eskimo" + "1" + "@" + "apple.com"

@eskimo , Thank you for the information. One more quick question, In the above documentation, It is mentioned that

File-based keychains are stored, as the name suggests, in files. Every context has a keychain search list and a default keychain. In a user context the search list includes a per-user login keychain and a single System keychain, with the former being the default. In the system context the search list includes just the System keychain, which is also the default keychain.

When using the SecItem API to target the file-based keychain:

SecItemAdd adds the item to the default keychain. Use kSecUseKeychain to override this.

Queries, like those done using SecItemCopyMatching, consult all keychains in the search list. Use kSecMatchSearchList to override this.

So to use attributes like kSecMatchSearchList, kSecUseKeychain -> How to fetch the right keychains (be it system or login) reference?

Thanks in advance.