XCTest Bundle cannot access local network using NWConnect

I am working on a XCTest UI test automation and I want to add the ability to communicate with a test hub on our local network that controls external test equipment that is being used to create test conditions that are external to the IPAD. Currently when I run the test on the simulator running on a MAC mini it works fine and communicates with the external machine but if I run on target which is a 6th Get IPAD it receives "POSIXErrorCode(rawValue: 50): Network is down" I have tried to add permissions to the test bundle to allow this to work but nothing seems to fix it. I am a novice when it comes to IOS development in general so maybe I am missing something obvious. I thought that this https://developer.apple.com/forums/thread/668729 solution would fix my problem but adding the permissions didn't help. I am using Xcode 13.4.1, the IOS on the target is version 15.5.

Replies

This is fallout from local network privacy. Before going further, read Local Network Privacy FAQ.

when I run the test on the simulator running on a MAC mini it works

Local network privacy is an iOS feature [1]. The simulator uses the macOS networking stack, which is why things work there.

When you run a unit test on an iOS device it’s hosted in one of two processes:

• Your app

• An Xcode unit test runner

Which one you get depends on the Host Application popup in the Testing slide of the General tab of the test’s target editor. If that’s None, you get the Xcode unit test runner.

The Xcode unit test runner is not authorised to use the local network and there’s no reasonable way to get it authorised. To make this work, you’ll need to host the unit test in your app. At that point you can authorise the app like you would any other.

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!” @ Developer Technical Support @ Apple
let myEmail = "eskimo" + "1" + "@" + "apple.com"

[1] For iOS, read iOS and iPadOS.