NetFSMountURLSync call fails on Apple Silicon

I have an application that mounts network shares and for this I use NetFSMountURLSync. Nothing special here, just a plain application calling this. The application is not running as root, and not using launchd and/or a privileged helper or anything that elevates priviliges.

On Intel hardware, a Mac Pro trashcan and a 2016 MBP, both running Monterey (12.6), this works flawless and has been for several years now with different macOS versions (obviously).

Now I'm trying to build an Apple Silicon version on a MBP M1 Max also with Monterey 12.6.

• I recompiled this as an Apple Silicon binary, however mounting failed.
  • Next I ran the Intel binary on Apple Silicon, but mounting fails here as well.

In both cases I get these error messages in Console (I'm not a Console expert):

<Applicationname> (loginsupport)
GetNetAuthAuthAgentPort: Calling bootstrap_look_up3() for com.apple.netauth.user.auth; uid = 501, euid = 501

<Applicationname> (loginsupport)
GetNetAuthAuthAgentPort: gNetAuthAuthAgentPort = 51463

<Applicationname> (launchservices)
LSExceptions shared instance invalidated for timeout.

Note: Running either binary (Intel/ARM) as sudo didn't make a difference either.

I'm at a point where I can just guess that for some reason the login isn't working, even though it work just fine on an Intel Mac. I've even tried calling NetFSMountURLSync with and without username/password - it didn't make a difference.

Note: I develop my application in Lazarus Pascal (latest trunk release), so I'm not sure how useful posting the code is.

Being a newbie at this and not being able to find anything useful online, I finally resorted to asking the questions here. Can anyone explain what I'm looking at? Just pointing towards documentation would already be helpful 😊

Replies

I develop my application in Lazarus Pascal

Nice! Somewhere out on the ’net there’s a photo of me wearing a “Friends don’t let friends do C” T-shirt (-: