High battery drain using Xcode 13

I have two Mac Book Pro 16'' 2019. On both I see a very high battery drain using Xcode 13 while using the simulator. Even when the app is not running only the simulator is launched in the background the MacBook gets very hot and the battery drains empty very fast. For the beta this was ok. But with the RC I expected that this was only a temporary problem. Does some else has this problem also?

• I bought a Macbook Air m1 16gb two days back, and I'm seeing the same issue. I am a Flutter developer, and I mostly work on vscode and android emulator/iOS simulator and battery performance is fine as it should be. BUT whenever I go and open up xcode for editing some swift code, my battery drains like no tomorrow. I thought xcode would drain less battery than Android studio or those emulators, but NOPE, xcode drains the most battery. Dear apple, pls fix this ASAP. If I had known this I'd have bought the mac mini and be at peace with it. No wonder apple store has such low ratings for xcode.

Add a Comment

Replies

I have MacBook Air M1, as soon as Xcode update to 13 M1's battery is out of the window. 10% through 10 minutes, this is not a joke. PLEASE HELP !

• Same! ☹️

• Same here, and absolutely terrible heating issues too, in the most basic of apps

• I actually faced with same problem , macbook air m1 drains battery within one day , but i think this is a reason of using Xcode

Same problem

The same problem occurred.

And I resolved this problem by using an 87W Apple battery charger instead of a 30W Apple battery charger.

I have also faced similar issue. Before updating xcode to 13, i was using 3-4 simulator at once in my Macbook Pro M1 16GB, but now opening single simulator heats up the machine and drop the battery in huge ratio.

• Same problem - fast battery drain and heating up when using Xcode.

Add a Comment