Failed to find a com.apple.networkextension.filter-data extension inside of app

Hi there. I've been working for quite a while prototyping a Content Filter app. I started with the SimpleFirewall code as a base, slowly making changes to it, as my use case is fairly different from the sample code - an internet safety app for kids, not a firewall.

I've spent a long time figuring out some of the intricacies of filtering NEFilterFlow objects, and working out the (fairly difficult) IPC communication between the system extension and the containing app. I have the app in a state now where it is not ready for distribution in the app store, but is ready for validation on a select number of internal test machines.

And here I must confess my almost total ignorance of many of the complexities in this realm. I've never built a macOS app before, and I only have one iOS app in the app store, and that was a much simpler use case (built with React Native, no tricky system extension stuff, and I leveraged TestFlight for testing with that app). So, I fully believe I might be making some total noob mistake here. I can say I've poured over these forums for hours trying lots of things, and I'm really stumped, and would greatly appreciate some detailed help here. 🙏

The problem

Anyway, the problem I'm having is that when I try to get the app to run on another Mac, I can't successfully get the system extension to install. I'll describe the error (as best I can understand it) directly below, and then further down give more information as to how I'm preparing the test application, since the problem might lie there.