HomeKit and Siri Shortcuts integration

I would love to see more integration between HomeKit and Siri Shortcuts - a common request I get for my app, Home Flash for HomeKit, is to flash a light when motion is detected, or a button is pressed, but it's not possible today.

I could envision this being implemented in one of two ways:
  • Allow a scene to execute a Siri Intent, so an 'Intruder' scene could turn on my porch light, and trigger a Siri Intent either on my phone or Apple TV to flash my bedroom or office light. This is my preferred way, since as a 3rd party developer, I have the ability to create Scene's for my users.

• Add more flexibility to HomeKit Automations that are Converted to Shortcuts, so that I could direct my users in how to do this

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of Mcorey Down vote post of Mcorey
13k views

Replies

As you mentioned, this can currently be done via Shortcuts and Home but not from your application.

Please file these requests via Feedback Assistant.
  • This is incorrect. It’s 2022 and I’ve spent 2 hours trying to find a way to trigger a Shortcut from my motion sensor in Homekit. There is no way I can find to do this.

• I agree. There is no way to use a HomeKit motion sensor to trigger a shortcut... even in iOS 16.4 (beta)

Add a Comment
Thank you - I've done that as well: FB7775304
Actually, this cannot be done today in either the Shortcuts app, or the Home app. I do not believe there is a way to tie a HomeKit-oriented trigger (such as motion, or pressing a HomeKit button) to a Siri Extension. This is how I'm seeing this:
  • Open the Home app, and go to the Automation tab

• Tap '+' to create a new automation

• Tap 'A Sensor Detects Something', choose a sensor such as 'Motion', and hit 'Next' twice, to get the list of scenes and accessories

• Scroll to the bottom of this page, and tap 'Convert To Shortcut'