How to read NSUserActivityTypes array?

I've never used NSUserActivityTypes before, and I'm struggling to understand exactly how it works and I'm hoping someone with some experience can shed a bit of light. In particular, as of iOS 13, Apple recommends storing user state using an NSUserActivity object attached to a scene, so I've been trying to a) better understand how NSUserActivity works and b) implement that in my own code. In working through Apple's documentation, I came across this piece of code:

class var activityType: String {
        let activityType = ""
        // Load our activity type from our Info.plist.
        if let activityTypes = Bundle.main.infoDictionary?["NSUserActivityTypes"] {
            if let activityArray = activityTypes as? [String] {
                return activityArray[0]
            }
        }
        return activityType
    }

I think I understand what this is doing (it looks at the Info.plist file for an entry called "NSUserActivityTypes", if it exists it tries to get the associated array of activityTypes, and then it reads the first item in the array), but what I don't understand is why we're only reading the first item in activityArray. In this case we know the first (and only item) is "com.apple.apple-samplecode.StateRestoration.activity" because we have to manually create that plist entry. But I don't understand why we are hard coding looking at the first item of the array in order to get the activity type, because if we know we're just going to get back the String "com.apple.apple-samplecode.StateRestoration.activity", why not just write the code to be this:

class var activityType: String { return "com.apple.apple-samplecode.StateRestoration.activity" }