shouldPerformSegue and tab bar controller

I'm a bit new to this so please bear with me.

I have redesigned a view so that its functionality is now split between 3 sub-views of a tab bar controller.

In the original version I was using the shouldPerformSegue function to prevent the seg if data validations failed.

The validation code no longer fires. I figured that this was probably due to it being in the wrong place (i.e. it was in one of the pages/subviews of the tab bar controller), so I moved the shouldPerformSegue to the tabBarController itself.

It still doesn't work.

Does anyone know if there is something spepcific to tabBarControllers that I might be missing? The code compiles etc., but the override never executes.

Thanks

Replies

When you use a tab bar view controller, you shouldn't segue that controller. Rather, you should segue the individual tab controllers (if you're transitioning to replacement controllers within a tab), or switch tabs (if you're transitioning between tabs).

So your validation code was probably in the right place, but your segues were probably in the wrong place in the storyboard (i.e. on the tab bar controller instead of the individual tabs' controllers), if that makes sense.

(Or are you trying to validate when switching between tabs? Or are you actually trying to segue away from the tab bar controller as a whole, which is kinda against the human interface guidelines?)

>> The code compiles etc., but the override never executes.

If you're going to override this (although I don't think that's what you actually want to do in this case), make sure you give the storyboard scene's view controller object the proper subclass, using the Identity inspector. The class popup at the top should show your subclass as a choice.

>I have redesigned a view so that its functionality is now split between 3 sub-views of a tab bar controller.

Does that mean you have have a single UITabBarController and three UINavigationControllers (one per tab)?