How to transfer data from a "text field" to a table?

Hi there,

I am quite new to the Swift programming language and having some sort of guidance would be very helpful. At the moment I am trying to create an application that saves information submitted from a textfield onto a table (Hopefully that makes sense). So in other words, I want to be able to write in the 'text field', click a button, and have the data appear in one of the cells, while being in two different controllers. I am not sure if this is even possible, however hopefully with some guidance I could get this to work. As well as that, I hope to keep the information saved, so that the next time you open the Application you will see all the data in the table. At the moment I have no code, because I don't know how to go about coding it. I am making the software for os x.

Here is an image of what I have done so far in the storyboard. Hopefully this helps.

Thanks,

IUtopia.

Replies

>Here is an image of what I have done so far in the storyboard.

Welcome to the forums - while you are free to add images to a comment, others are not allowed to see them.

As an alternative, you can upload to a server and then place the URL here, but know that most outbound URLs are required to be cleared by a moderator, with no firm schedule on when/if they may be cleared later. As an alternative, break the url, like this:

h ttp://www.cnn.com

In the mean time, you may want to start learning Swift via Apple's materials. As well, see the 'Resources' link above.

Good luck.

This is not a Swift question. Your choice of language isn't relevant yet.

What you need to read up on is the model-view-controller architecture in general. What is a data model, who "owns" it, how do you persist it and update it. If you start pasting in code you found somewhere, without fully understanding those principles, it's not going to end well.

Hi Junkpile,