App rejected without violating any Guidelines

I submitted an app that was approved six versions, the 7th one was rejected, but the review team could not point me a specific reason. The application consisted in a way to facilitate people to exchange currency directly with one another. The review team said to me that it was not appropriate to the App Store, but this seems to be based on an opinion rather than a guideline. I have been developing the app for about six months and even created a company and paid thousands of dollars in legal fees. I find it hard to believe that decisions to take the app from the App Store can be taken like this. I submitted an appeal and the decision to reject the app was upheld, again for no specific reason. Is there anything that can be done?

Since this decision was not based on any guideline how can Apple guarantee that another app would not be taking the same business model than my app? If in two years or six months another app with the same business idea is approved this will be very unfair.

Replies

Are you sure that the rejection did not refer to a specific guideline? What exactly did they write?

Yes, I am sure. They wrote to me saying that they will contact me by phone, and they did. But while speaking on the phone the response to my inquiry on what was the basis in the guidelines for the rejection I could not get a straight answer. The replies changed and varied among the following:

1. Even though it is legal we are not obligated to publish it (this comes from the first rejection claiming it was illegal, but is not. It seems they came to agree with me with the fact that it is legal. Nobody is saying that you are obligated to publish it, I am saying it is not ground to reject it.)

2. It is a business decision ( rather useless explanation because it does not help me to fix the issue, not that any other the other explanations did)