Should I upgrade to xcode 9 or wait?

Hi,

I have an app that I've been working on for several months which is just about ready to go to the app store.

I'm concerned that if I upgrade to Xcode 9, I might face a bunch of new problems, such as my app not fitting properly on the new iPhone X screen.

If I upgrade but set my project's Base SDK to iOS 10, will Xcode 9 build it the same way as Xcode 8? Or is it advisable to delay upgrading Xcode until I have released the app and have time to deal with any potential changes?

Thanks,

Frank

Replies

>If I upgrade but set my project's Base SDK to iOS 10, will Xcode 9

I don't think that's an option w/Xcode 9.

If you're ready to pull the trigger on that app, you might as well do it now w/Xcode 8 and get it in the store, then take your time w/Xcode 9. If you're not in any hurry, then move to 9, trim it for iPhone X etc. and live large in the store when it's ready.

I was in the same position w/one of my apps, but after testing in Xcode 9, I think I'll commit to it and just keep going.

In any case, it won't hurt to at least test a copy of your app w/Xcode 9, just be prepared to stash Xcode 8.x when installing 9...the MAS will install 9 over 8.