Working with external multichannel audio interfaces

I am a novice when it comes to CoreAudio, so I got Kevin Avila's and Chris Adamson's book Learning CoreAudio and gave myself a crash course. I also downloaded the sample code for CAPlayThrough (https://developer.apple.com/library/content/samplecode/CAPlayThrough/Introduction/Intro.html) and was modifying items here and there to see what the effect it will have.

So the next step for me was to see if I can read the input from an external audio interface using the CAPlayThrough example. I have a 4 input channel interface (behringer uphoria 404 to be exact). So in system preferences, I selected the default input to be the audio interface and the default output to be the built in speakers on my MBP. Right off the bat I got an input from input channels 1 and 2 and was able to output it to my built in speakers. However the input channels 3 and 4 from the audio interface was not able to output any sound to the built in speakers. So I combed through the documentation and the closest documentation that mentioned using multi channels was this:

https://developer.apple.com/library/content/technotes/tn2091/_index.htm

So I took the example code of setting up the channel map and made this mapping for the input AudioUnit

SInt32 * channelMap;

UInt32 numOfChannels = asbd_dev1_in.mChannelsPerFrame;

UInt32 mapSize = numOfChannels *sizeof(SInt32);

channelMap = (SInt32 *)malloc(mapSize);

for(UInt32 i=0;i<numOfChannels;i++)

{

channelMap[i]=-1;

}

channelMap[0] = 0;

channelMap[1] = 1;

channelMap[2] = 0;

channelMap[3] = 1;

AudioUnitSetProperty(mInputUnit,

kAudioOutputUnitProperty_ChannelMap,

kAudioUnitScope_Output,

channelMap,

mapSize);

free(channelMap)

Still the same results. However when I changed the channel map to just this:

channelMap[0] = 2;

channelMap[1] = 3;

I was able to get the sound from input channels 3 and 4 from the interface to the built in speakers, but not from input channels 1 and 2.