SceneKit CPU Usage

Hi,

I am new to the iOS programming.

I write a game which uses Scenekit and Swift 4 and I am wondering weather my CPU usage is not to high so that the app will be rejected in the future.

Right now I have 50-70% of the CPU usage and battery usage high.

I don't know what CPU usage should I target in case of the game.

Unfortunatelly battery usage is high as well.

I can try to do some optimizations, but maybe this is an acceptable performance?

The device on which I am testing is not hot and I have 50-60fps performance and the game works smoothly.

Does anyone has any ideas?

Accepted Reply

I think you need to experiment, and use performance tools such as Instruments.

For example, if using smaller (or lower resolution) images dramatically reduces CPU use, you might focus on that area.

It also depends on (for example) whether users will play your game for long periods of time. If the battery drains quickly, they won't be able to play for very long.

One question: when you test, are you using a Debug build from Xcode, or a Release build? With Swift, this can make quite a difference.

Replies

Sorry for my english, there should be and I wonder.

I think you need to experiment, and use performance tools such as Instruments.

For example, if using smaller (or lower resolution) images dramatically reduces CPU use, you might focus on that area.

It also depends on (for example) whether users will play your game for long periods of time. If the battery drains quickly, they won't be able to play for very long.

One question: when you test, are you using a Debug build from Xcode, or a Release build? With Swift, this can make quite a difference.

I test using a Debug build from Xcode, I changed to a Release build but now in XCode I don't see usage of the CPU and battery anymore 😟

I need to read how to use instruments.