FlowChart of METAL?

i am new to Metal or game developing. I was studing the documentation but i have yet to see anthing that explains the flow of the game deisgn in METAl.

What i mean is what is the steps or the flow of the code. Wht do i need to import declare. what are the classes i need to instantiate.

For example : when you create a funaction. You write code but when you do . You are thinking of these steps in general.

1. type func

2. give a function name

3. ()

4. parameters ,why how

5. var inside

6. bunch of code

7. return type why when how etc.

you know the flow of the function . so even if you don't know how to write a full program . We can still get an idea.

I don't know what you need and why you need them in METAL. can somone help me with this stupid request.

What i know.

1. import metal

2. create a device var metalLayer = MTLDevice!

thats it. LOL.

3. create a CAMetalLayer! for IOS

4. can give fram etc.

vertex.

and thats it. I can't find anything.

All the documentation doesn't tell anything about the flow.

Does anyone have/ create a FLOWCHRT for METAL? for IOS development

Replies

I guess you realize that this is quite a general question where not all aspects can be discussed in only one answer. Lets try anyway..

Setup:

In the center of the Metal API is the MTLDevice. It represents the acual hardware that is going to compute your graphics functions. The MTLDevice is one of the non-transient Metal-objects. That means after creating a device object you can reuse this object throughout the lifetime of your program. After you created the device, you can create buffers (MTLBuffer), textures(MTLTexture) and pipelines (MTLRenderPipelineState) and command queues (MTLCommandQueue) from the device. These three types of objects can also stay in your devices memory throughout the program's lifetime.