xib vs Storyboard for Doc based Mac App. looks like the decision has been made for me.

I'm an old school programmer. cut my teeth on the Very first Mac os X server. Back before the dock, Aqua, Xcode.

Nibs and Xibs make sense to me, and they are my preference.

apparently, Apple has decided to kill support for xibs and nibs in document based apps. If that is not the case, then at least: there are no bread crumbs for fixing whatever they broke, in enabling storyboards in Mac OS X Document based apps.

when you load an xib instead of the storyboard, as your document's UI, Save, open, and a host of other menu commands are disabled. the very "Document" behavior associated with NSDocument, doesn't work.

So I am in need of help. Storyboards are infuriating to me, it's an arbitrarly complicated and restricted environment. The simplest and clear things that I have been doing for decades, are now out of my reach. tutorials seem to make dumb front ends that do not actually display data, the documentation seems to show hundreds of exhausting features of IB, but nobody shows how you might ever bind to document data, or even reference the document from your viewcontroller in any way.

i need some hints. breadcrumbs. Some of us out here want to do more than click on glass screens and kill zombies in a physics sim.

Accepted Reply

uh huh. attitude. my attitude. somehow that's the problem here?

John Daniel, maybe you should check the mirror. here's why:

1. IOS is adding direct support for access to the filesystem in ios 11. which means even IOS Apps will support document based apps. it's the next big thing. Announced at WWDC, maybe you heard of it.

2. this is a programming forum, not a psycologists forum.

3. I was very specific about my needs, the only impact you have had on this thread is to make suggestions that do not relate to the issue.

and 4. (my fav) here's the solution to the problem (i figured out the correct search terminology):