How to Access the IOS Documents Folder

Hey Devs,

I'm trying to access the documents folder in my IOS app so I can assign the .mov and jpeg files to a UIImage and a AVPlayer, but I can't find a way to do this. I'm very new to this so its probably me. After a LOT of research I've found FileManager, NSHomeDirectory, and Bundle.Main. I simply don't understand how to use them though. I need to be able to rename the files as well. How do I do this, or rather what is the best way to do this???

Accepted Reply

This thread has been deleted

Except that the ‘blessed’ answer uses

NSSearchPathForDirectoriesInDomains
, which I recommend against because it’s best to stay in “URL space” (that is, avoid string paths) wherever possible. I recommend this:
let docDir = try! FileManager.default.url(for: .documentDirectory, in: .userDomainMask, appropriateFor: nil, create: true)

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!”
Apple Developer Relations, Developer Technical Support, Core OS/Hardware

let myEmail = "eskimo" + "1" + "@apple.com"

Replies

Seen this SO thread for starters?

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/35158215/rename-file-in-documentdirectory

Uses this:-

let documentsPath = NSSearchPathForDirectoriesInDomains(.documentDirectory, .userDomainMask, true)[0]

Uses …

NSSearchPathForDirectoriesInDomains

You can use that but I recommend against it; when dealing with the locations of items on disk, it’s better to use file URLs rather than file paths.

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!”

Thanks for all the replys so quickly guys. I'm testing everything still, but ESKIMO, why do you not recommend using strings but URLS? Just trying to learn here.

why do you not recommend using strings but URLS?