how to generate the .ipa from the terminal

i am very new to iOS app continous integration , please help me to to genearte the .ipa file from the command line, thanks in advance

Accepted Reply

Take a look at Technical Note TN2339, Building from the Command Line with Xcode FAQ, in addition to the documentation provided by running the commands `man xcodebuild` and `xcodebuild -help` in Terminal.

The general flow for archiving your app from the command line and then exporting a .ipa file is:

// Builds the app into an archive
xcodebuild -project YourProject.xcodeproj -scheme YourScheme -archivePath /Path/To/Output/YourApp.xcarchive archive

// Exports the archive according to the export options specified by the plist
xcodebuild -exportArchive -archivePath /Path/To/Output/YourApp.xcarchive -exportPath /Path/To/ipa/Output/Folder -exportOptionsPlist /Path/To/ExportOptions.plist

You will need to create a plist file for the export options, using the keys and values found in the xcodebuild help page mentioned above. Here's an example that exports a .ipa file for the App Store:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
  <key>method</key>
  <string>app-store</string>
</dict>
</plist>

Replies

Take a look at Technical Note TN2339, Building from the Command Line with Xcode FAQ, in addition to the documentation provided by running the commands `man xcodebuild` and `xcodebuild -help` in Terminal.

The general flow for archiving your app from the command line and then exporting a .ipa file is:

// Builds the app into an archive
xcodebuild -project YourProject.xcodeproj -scheme YourScheme -archivePath /Path/To/Output/YourApp.xcarchive archive

// Exports the archive according to the export options specified by the plist