Confusion about Safari Extension vs. Safari App Extension

I'm having trouble finding info on the reasoning, timing, and info on the transition from the old way of creating a Safari Extension to the new Safari App Extensions. I'm curious if someone could point me to an official post about this or post it here? My main questions are:

1. Are Safari Extensions officially deprecated in favor of Safari App Extensions?
  2. If yes, how soon do existing Safari Extensions need to be transitioned to a Safari App Extension? AKA: How long until my Safari Extension breaks or is no longer supported for new users?

Some background: I'm a web developer and would like to create a new version of my Safari Extension. I see the "suggested" way of doing this is now to create a Safari App Extension in Xcode, which requires building the extension primarily in Xcode and involves learning Swift (or Objective-C). This seems like a massive hurdle compared to Chrome, Firefox, and Opera who all support the same WebExtensions API. I'm wondering if it's worth the trouble of building a completly separate app extension for Safari, or if we can continue using the Safari Extension builder?

Replies

These are excellent questions. It's a shame that they were never answered.

I also have the same questions regarding Safari extensions vs. Safari App extensions.

My colleagues and I are developing an extension that needs to work on all major browsers, obviously including Safari.

On Chrome, Firefox and Edge, we are using the WebExtensions API, which allows us to share the same code base between them.

On Safari, we have to choose between legacy Safari Extensions (built with extension builder, HTML + Javascript) and new Safari App Extensions (xCode, Swift/Objective-C + Javascript).

From an architectural point of view, legacy Safari Extensions are quite similar to what other major browsers provide with WebExtensions API.