Realtime audio processing within an AVAudioEngine

Hello All,

on my goal to creat a simple sampler instrument in Swift for iOS I came across a problem that I could not find a solution for -> Realtime Audio Processing.

First of all I am pretty new to programming (Swift around 7 months - no experience in Obj-C and C++) but I am having multiple years of experience in hands on sound engineering.

Scope

My goal is to create a simple sampler with the following processing graph:

AVAudioPlayerNode -> "Volume Envelope" -> AVAudioEngine.mainMixerNode

Here my Idea was to use the AVAudioPlayerNode to play my sound files at different pitches - then trigger a volume envelope that fades in the volume over a certain period of time to avoid the noisy click at the start of the sound. After stopping a note I wanted to create a fade out effect by triggering a fade out volume ramp.

By using multiple AVAudioPlayerNode + Volume Evnelope pairs I wanted to achieve polyphony. The processing of the volume envelope should have been done on a per sample level to leave room for other precessing extensions like filtering.

Unfortunatelly I could not yet find a way to access the samples that come out of the AVAudioPlayerNode to process them in real time.

Question

Is there a way to access the audio samples in one of the AVAudioNodes to process them within one AVAudioNode in realtime? The way I imagine that it might work is like the scheduling of the buffers of the AVAudioPlayerNode. Similar like installing a tap on the microphone input and then directly processing the sample before sheduling them on an AVAudioPlayerNode. http://stackoverflow.com/questions/24383080/realtime-audio-with-avaudioengine-in-ios-8

Current Workarround