Container App for iMessages App

If I undertood correctly, iMessage apps can have a container App that users can access through the springboard like any normal app. But I'm not able to get this to work on Xcode.

If I create a project using the iMessage Application template, what should I do the add the container app? Adding another target with the Single View Application template creates a new app.. btw.. I'm a Xcode/iOS dev newbie so please bear with me.

Accepted Reply

Good question, for new folks not familiar with Xcode and projects this can easily trip you up.

If you create a new project and select iMessage App or Sticker Pack Application, then you are creating a project that will generate an iMessage App that is standalone and does not have a parent app shown on the home screen.

To do what you want, you would create new iOS app choosing one of the other new project templates (e.g. Single View Application), and then once you have that parent app project, you would do File > New > Target... and then choose to add an iMessage App or Sticker Pack. That would add a new "target" to the parent application that would build the iMessage app. This is similar to how you would add various types of extensions to an app, like a share extension, today widget, or photo editing extension.

Hope that helps.

Replies

Good question, for new folks not familiar with Xcode and projects this can easily trip you up.

If you create a new project and select iMessage App or Sticker Pack Application, then you are creating a project that will generate an iMessage App that is standalone and does not have a parent app shown on the home screen.