Load a 3D Model from internet?

Hello. Sorry for my poor english.

I'm a totally noob in 3D. Is it possible to load a Collada (.DAE) model from internet? When I try to load a model previously downloaded from internet (using NSURLSession) I get error, but when I try to load the same .DAE added to my XCODE project I dont get error. I suspect that XCODE converts COLLADA in compilation.

is there any way to load a standard Collada or other 3D Model without be previously converted by XCODE? I want to Load 3D models uploaded for clients to my server.

Thanks

Replies

The Preview application uses Scene Kit to preview Collada files, so it does work on OS X. I also it witnessed it my own apps. I've never heard of Xcode "optimizing" Collada files.

Either it does not work properly on iOS or your downloading code is buggy. Which error do you get, by the way ?

Per the SCNSceneSource documentation at https://developer.apple.com/library/mac/documentation/SceneKit/Reference/SCNSceneSource_Class/ you must run your DAE file through Xcode to load it onto an iOS device from SceneKit. Xcode invokes scntool.

See also http://www.the-nerd.be/2014/11/07/dynamically-load-collada-files-in-scenekit-at-runtime/.

I asked Apple about using On Demand Resources with SceneKit (you could import your DAE files in the project), here is their answer: