App Dev Minor

All,

I am an ADE and university professor. I am proposing an App Dev Minor (open to all majors), and I just wanted to see if I could gather your feedback on the following:

1. Does the sequence make sense?

2. Based on the description, do you feel each course would be worth 3 credit hours?

3. Are there any aspects missing that should be integrated into this curriculum?

4. Do you have any other ideas on what to integrate?

Thank you!

----------------------------------------------------

Course 1- ISYS-120: Storyboarding Apps

Course 2- ISYS-130: App Dev Fundamentals

Course 3- ISYS-220: App Dev for iOS

Course 4- ISYS-230: Advanced App Dev for iOS

Course 5- ISYS-350: Final App Dev Project

The App Dev minor is designed to provide students with an introduction to app development regardless of their undergraduate major. Students will learn specific skills to integrate app development into their specific major (e.g. nursing majors can create home health app) and will finish the minor with a fully functioning app based on their initial concept. This also allows students to host their apps in iTunes as a potential business venture. Lastly, this minor has been developed in consultation with app developers and the education team at Apple and discussed with Communications and Art & Design faculty for potential interdisciplinary opportunities.

Program Goals

1. Prepare and produce a storyboard of the app interface.
  2. Recognize best practice app interface design principles using Interface Builder.
  3. Design user input fields and integrate the virtual keyboard.
  4. Analyze touch and multi-touch gestures.
  5. Develop and animate user interfaces.
  6. Determine interface changes associated with device orientation.
  7. Prepare app to pull data from a web service within the app.
  8. Produce a functioning app based on student use case.

Course Descriptions

ISYS-120: Storyboarding Apps (3) [Pre-req: None]