Swift replace exact string (Regex Replace?)

Hello!

For the past two days I've been struggling to find out how to replace exact word in a string using either some of the string functions in XCode or by using Regular Expressions. Is this even possible to accomplish? By I mean by that is for example to create a word censoring filter which prohibits the use of the word 'H e l l', and replaces it with '****'. Unfortunately all the things I have tried, I have ended up replacing words that contains 'H e l l', like in 'Hello'.

Please keep in mind that I am fairly new to Xcode, as I started by journey last week.

Help would be greatly appreciated.

Accepted Reply

I would use Regular Expressions as you mentioned.

(By the way, string functions are included in programming language or its libraries, which are included in SDKs bundled in Xcode. Some functions are only available in OS X SDK, some others only in iOS SDK... As they come with Xcode, you'd better specify -- Xcode version, target SDK and its version, and the language you use. Of course you are expected to be using Swift, if you post an article here.)

NSRegularExpression Class Reference

Assume 'the' is a bad word, and replace the occurrences of it in a string like "These are the bad words." .

var str = "These are the bad words."
let regex = try! NSRegularExpression(pattern: "\\bthe\\b", options: .CaseInsensitive)
str = regex.stringByReplacingMatchesInString(str, options: [], range: NSRange(0..<str.utf16.count), withTemplate: "***")
print(str) //->These are *** bad words.

Replies

Your replace function needs to be able to identify and transform words in the text. This is not trivial, as the concept of words is not trivial, depending on your requirements.

As an example, let's say you want to replace the word "foo" with "bar" in the following string:

let str = "Yeti says 'foo', and bigfoot says 'bar'. What is foo? Foo is a word."

I guess you want the resulting string to be: