Building a file utility/Full Disk Access/Sandboxing

My question: What is the best way to build a macOS app that requires 100% access to the entire file system of a user, in a way that complies with App Store policies? See details below:

I am new to macOS development and am still getting my head around Swift and Xcode, though I've been a professional developer for 15 years. I am building a macOS app in Xcode 11 and Swift 5.2, designed for systems 10.13 and later (though 10.14+ would be acceptable if the Full Disk Access factor makes 10.13 support impossible or not feasible).

The app is a file utility that lets users find certain files, filter them, and copy them to another location. Here is how the general UX goes:

- We start by showing the user a list of volumes, similar to the left pane of Finder. The user can select any volumes/root locations they want to search.

- We search those locations and store information about every file found in a db (SQLite at this point).

- The user can filter out what they don't want

- We can copy those to another location the user indicates.

I'm leaving this vague because the hope is that this will end up in the App Store. I am having trouble getting file access outside my package and would like to know what the experts would do here.

- I've created a Release build of my .app package, moved to /Applications, and manually enabled the Full Disk Access permission for that app. It seems my App Sandbox is still prioritized, I'm getting an access error when trying a fileManager.contentsOfDirectory.