iOS 13 NSKeyedUnarchiver EXC_BAD_ACCESS

Hi all,

I've spent the better part of a day and half now trying to debug this issue I'm seeing when trying to unarchive a Data blob stored locally (this issue also appears when retrieving it via iCloud, but since they run through the same codepath, I assume they're related).

Background

I originally built this app four years ago, and for reasons that have since been lost to time (but probably because I was more of a novice back then), I relied on the AutoCoding library to get objects in my data model to automagically adopt NSCoding (although I did implement the protocol myself in some places -- like I said, I was an novice) and FCFileManager for saving these objects to the local documents directory. The data model itself is fairly simple: custom NSObjects that have various properties of NSString, NSArray, and other custom NSObject classes (but I will note there are a number of circular references; most of them declared as strong and nonatomic in header files). This combination has (and still does) work well in the production version of the app.

However, in a future update, I'm planning on adding saving/loading files from iCloud. While I've been building that out, I've been looking to trim down my list of third-party dependencies and update older code to iOS 13+ APIs. It so happens that FCFileManager relies on the now-deprecated +[NSKeyedUnarchiver unarchiveObjectWithFile:] and +[NSKeyedArchiver archiveRootObject: toFile:], so I've focused on rewriting what I need from that library using more modern APIs.

I was able to get saving files working pretty easily using this:

@objc static func save(_ content: NSCoding, at fileName: String, completion: ((Bool, Error?) -> ())?) {
        CFCSerialQueue.processingQueue.async { // my own serial queue
            measureTime(operation: "[LocalService Save] Saving") { // just measures the time it takes for the logic in the closure to process
                do {