AECreateAppleEvent from Swift issues.

I'm tyring to send an AppleEvent using the C API's from Swift. I know I can use the Foundation types, but I want to learn about Swift / C interop at the same time. If someone could help me understand why this AppleEvent isn't sending and I'm getting a -1701 (No AEDesc Found) error, I'd be extremely grateful. The problem is a) I'm new to C interop and b) I don't know which AEDesc the error is actually referring too and c) if I'm using the C API correctly.

I'm trying to open TextEdit.

let textEditID = "com.apple.TextEdit"
        let textEditIDC = textEditID.cString(using: .utf8)!

let textEditPtr : UnsafeMutablePointer<[CChar]> = UnsafeMutablePointer<[CChar]>.allocate(capacity: textEditIDC.count)
        textEditPtr.initialize(to: textEditIDC)

let ds : AEDataStorage = AEDataStorage(OpaquePointer(textEditPtr))
        let address : AEAddressDesc = AEAddressDesc(descriptorType: typeApplicationURL, dataHandle: ds)
        let addrPtr = UnsafeMutablePointer<AEAddressDesc>.allocate(capacity: 1)
        addrPtr.initialize(to: address)

let eventPtr : UnsafeMutablePointer<AppleEvent>? = UnsafeMutablePointer<AppleEvent>.allocate(capacity: 1)
        let replyPtr : UnsafeMutablePointer<AppleEvent>? = UnsafeMutablePointer<AppleEvent>.allocate(capacity: 1)

var error = AECreateAppleEvent(kCoreEventClass,
                                           kAEOpenApplication,
                                           addrPtr,
                                           Int16(kAutoGenerateReturnID),
                                           AETransactionID(kAnyTransactionID),
                                           eventPtr)

os_log(.debug, log: .default, "AECreateAppleEvent: %d", error)

var ae = eventPtr?.pointee
        let addrDescPtr : UnsafeMutablePointer<AEDesc> = UnsafeMutablePointer<AEDesc>.allocate(capacity: 1)
        error = AEGetAttributeDesc(eventPtr, keyAddressAttr, typeApplicationBundleID, addrDescPtr)