IOHIDDevice entitlements

Hi,

our audio plugins communicate with a controlling hardware device via Apples IOHIDDevice API, which according to
https://developer.apple.com/library/archive/documentation/Miscellaneous/Reference/EntitlementKeyReference/Chapters/EnablingAppSandbox.html
should be sandbox excepted by the

com.apple.security.device.usb
key, which I have test-wise placed and enabled, but communication can’t be established from inside a sandboxed DAW (checked with Ableton Live).
Any expertise on this?

Thanks & cheers,

Hagen.

• Hi Hagen,

I'm in the same predicament, have you ever gotten this to work? Or are plugins at the mercy of the DAW's entitlements?

Add a Comment

Replies

Entitlements are only effective if applied to the main executable of a process. I’m not an expert on audio plug-ins, but my general understanding is that these plug-ins are not main executables but rather libraries (

MH_BUNDLE
or
MH_DYLIB
) that are loaded within a host app. If that’s the case here then it’s the host app’s entitlements that apply; the plug-in’s entitlements are simply ignored.

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!”
Apple Developer Relations, Developer Technical Support, Core OS/Hardware

let myEmail = "eskimo" + "1" + "@apple.com"

Thanks Quinn, but I think you are wrong here:

https://developer.apple.com/library/archive/technotes/tn2247

is indicating the possibilty to control sandbox exceptions.

Thanks & cheers,

Hagen.

[TN2247] is indicating the possibilty to control sandbox exceptions.

Right. But all of its discussion around entitlements is focused on the application that’s hosting the plug-ins. I searched the technote for entitlement and here’s all the relevant quotes:

• The application indicates what services it requires access to via entitlements that are attached to the application through its code signature.

• If an application wishes to open Audio Components that are not Sandbox Safe, the application must be signed with the entitlement