5 Replies
      Latest reply on Dec 7, 2019 1:03 AM by Claude31
      Captain Joe Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

Hello Coders,

I'm new to Swift, iOS, HomeKit and Delegates. I'm trying to get a HomeKit Accessory to notify my function when a value changes. I'm testing with Brightness of a lamp for now. In other parts of my app I can read and write brightness.

I've created two different functions to receive the brightness change. I realize that I will only need one, once I learn more. I'm able to enable Notifications for this one device.

Any suggestions would be helpful, including general coding style!

Thanks Steve

import Foundation
        import HomeKit

//let hkHomeManager = HMHomeManager()
        let hkHomeManager = HomeKitManagerClass()
        let hkAccessoryManager = HomeKitAccessoryClass()
        let myCharTypes = readCharacteristicsCSV()

protocol HomeKitAccessoryDelegate {
          func didUpdateValueFor (_ accessory: HMAccessory, service: HMService, didUpdateValueFor characteristic: HMCharacteristic)
          func didReceiveBrightness(value: Int)
        }

class HomeKitAccessoryClass: NSObject, HMAccessoryDelegate {
          var accDelegate:HomeKitAccessoryDelegate?

func didUpdateValueFor (_ accessory: HMAccessory!, service: HMService!, didUpdateValueFor characteristic: HMCharacteristic) {
            var jsmAcc: HMAccessory = HMAccessory()
            var jsmSer: HMService = HMService()
            var jsmChar: HMCharacteristic = HMCharacteristic()
            if let accDelegate = self.accDelegate {
              accDelegate.didUpdateValueFor(jsmAcc, service: jsmSer, didUpdateValueFor: jsmChar)
              print ("Did Update Value For...")
            }
          }

func brightnessUpdated () {
            var brightnessReceived: Int = Int()
            if let accDelegate = self.accDelegate {
              accDelegate.didReceiveBrightness(value: brightnessReceived)
              print ("Did Update Value For...\(brightnessReceived)")
            }