Notarization error for "Growl.framework" and "libchilkatCocoa.a"

Hi,

I am a software developer at https://www.continuum.net/ now https://www.connectwise.com/. We have a macOS package that was built 7-8 years back by some other organization. Now when I try to notarize this app by signing and recompile it, I few errors for 3rd party package "Growl.framework" and for a static library "libchilkatCocoa.a".

1. Error "The binary uses an SDK older than the 10.9 SDK" for "Growl.framework".

2. "The binary is not signed for "libchilkatCocoa.a".

https://osxapps-ssl.itunes.apple.com/itunes-assets/Enigma113/v4/3a/62/b0/3a62b0e5-99d6-e0f4-a6ef-eaadf887f95c/developer_log.json?accessKey=1574270418_5198680920624751432_1EPanIVvmOtLsYnJzcGlsYn0kdh9GhFP0LtpAKvAqjp8kcRNPKH%2BKOniWK9r7kM79ZVH1muQm2hyeWbfJrj7hAT76CBB6i63Ha7%2BCLIDLOibeWnKO8IGdvYvoEatkFiTKHVlre0E9qTGKJrUpycPDfx8vSxHg3wJCZCkVmGaymU%3D

Could you please help me understand how I can resolve these issues or if there is any workaround for this as I cannot recompile these as they are 3rd party framework.

Thanks in advance!!!

Accepted Reply

OK, let’s tackle your problems in order.

SDK Version

There’s really not much you can do here. Notarisation requires modern code signing and, in order to be guaranteed that it has modern code signing, it requires that your components link with the 10.9 SDK or later. There’s only two supported ways to fix this:

• Remove your dependency on the Growl framework.

• Get a version of that framework that’s built against a modern SDK.

Static Libraries

The vast majority of folks who end up shipping static libraries (

.a
files) to end users do so by mistake [1]. Thus, in most cases the correct answer here is to remove the static library from your shipping product.

As to the actual symptoms you’re seeing, I looked into the situation with static libraries just yesterday as part of a DTS incident and thus I can explain the observed behaviour:

• Static libraries come in two flavours: