Notarization warnings being treated as errors when the notarized app is bundled in another

Hi,

I am a software developer at https://www.continuum.net/ now https://www.connectwise.com/, I have developed an app for macOS using golang which I was able to successfully notarized but with few warning of SDK version "The binary uses a SDK older than the 10.9 SDK.”.

I bundle this newly developed app in an existing app that was built 7-8 years back by some other org. Now when I try to notarize this bundled app, the warning which I mentioned above is being reported as an error and the app is rejected from being notarized. I am not sure why the app is rejected with warnings of an app which is already notarized.

Could you please help me understand how I can ignore the SDK error since I cannot change the old codebase/app.

Also, it would have been easy if I could simply move the compilation of the old app from Xcode 6 to Xcode 10 but neither Xcode 6 can be installed on macOS 10.14.5 nor Xcode 10 can be installed on Mac OS 10.9 due to libc++, etc compatibility issues. Also, the legacy app was built using “PackageMaker” which was deprecated long back and the new app is bundled using the latest tool “productbuild”.

Let me know if there is any workaround for this as well.

Thanks in advance!!!

Replies

A "me too" post.

As for Nilesh, my app notarizes fine but with warnings about embedded binaries using an older SDK.

But if I try to notarize a .pkg containing my app, all those same warnings get turned into errors and the notarization fails.

Do I actually need to notarize the .pkg, or can I simply notarize the app first then build the .pkg from that?

Do I actually need to notarize the

.pkg
… ?

Let me make sure I have this right:

• You have an app.

• You wrap that app in an installer package.

• You distribute that installer package to your customers.

Correct?

If so, the standard approach is:

1. Sign the app.

2. Build the package.

3. Sign the package.