Learing xCode + Swift - is it really this hard?

Hello,

I have started learning iOS programming (not for the first time, I gave up once in the Obj-C era). I am new to programming, and after having worked my way through Swift playgrounds on iPad I find myself banging my head against the wall when trying to get to the next level. I am about 2/3 of the way through Apple's "App Development With Swift", and I have also worked through the first half of Wenderlich´s iOS Apprentice. (The Wenderlich book does spend 300 pages on making a to-do list, which did wear me out).

After the very basics of functions and very very simple apps, I find it incredibly hard to get to the next level and actually creating something myself from scratch. Apple's tutorial being rather full of errors does not help, but i find even "simple" things like table views very hard to get the hang of using Apple's book.

I started learning because I have an idea for a simple - in my mind at least - app. The app would be Mapkit based and show all features of type x inside area y. For instance, all Irish pubs in Ireland (this is not what the app would do, but the principle is the same; all points of interests of a particular type in a particular area). The user will be able to tap each map annotation for more information which will be stored as Ints, Strings and Bools, for instance: numberOfSeats: Int, pubName: String, hasPoolTable: Bool, [beersOnTap] etc. Then the user could store his favourite pubs and see a list view of the nearest

I thought I would be able to learn the basics and then start creating the app, learning more along the way. But after working on various books and tutorials for months, I am still utterly clueless as to where to start. I can't even find out how to make a map annotation clickable and show a seprate view with info for the object.