UIImage and switch case

Hey guys! I´m a absolute beginner in Swift. And actualy i try some simple thinks in a small app. Here you would see a Table View with files in "iTunes files". With some pathExtension like PDF, PNG, JPG or without a extension you´ll see a folder.

My problem: The screen shows every single file or folder. And it is possible for me to show exactly one image: An Folder image, PDF image or whatever. But it isn´t possible to let the code deside. An example:

cell.imageView?.image = UIImage(named: "folderImage.png")

Here is a Cell mit the name "cell". And he print a UIImage named "folderImage.png". But evey file like a "png", jpg" or whatever becomes the folder image too. The whole day i try things like this:

let fileExtension = (input as NSString).pathExtension

cell.imageView?.image = UIImage(named: 

switch fileExtension {

case "pdf":
          "pdfImage.png"
     case "rtf":
          "rtfImage.png"
     default:
          "folderImage.png"

}

)

Please please help me! 😟 What is to do, that these output in "extension ViewController: UITableViewDataSource" choose the image by hisself.

Thank you very much!

Replies

Please show some examples of `input`. Does it contain a full path to a file or a folder? Or just the file/folder name with extension?

And, please clarify, what do you expect the result should be, for `input` as "png" or "jpg"?

There can be a folder named "png", a PDF file namd "png"... What do you expect in such cases?

There is a dot in path extension.

So, you should test case ".pdf"

etc

Otherwise, evreything falls in the default case.

Note: I would be surprised it compiles with the switch as named: argument…

Some examples of "input" are:

rtf
png
(without a extension here an empty row)
pdf
jpg