How does insertSegment's "at" parameter works?

Hi!

I'm new to Swift development and during reading an Intro to App Development with Swift I stuck with strange advice from the book (Lesson 20.2):

for choice in topChoices {
    topCaptionSegmentedControl.insertSegment(withTitle: choice.emoji, at: topChoices.count, animated: false)
}

The "at" parameter implies it's an index/number of a segment, so it should be a counter (each element should have own position). So the code should be like this:

var i = 0
for choice in topChoices {
    topCaptionSegmentedControl.insertSegment(withTitle: choice.emoji, at: i, animated: false)
    i += 1
}

But the author of the book uses topChoices.count which is a constant value. In my case it's always equal to 3. So all three iterations of the loop we are inserting segments into the same position (3).

Can anybody explain how it works? I couldn't find a detailed explanation in the specs.

Replies

What you are missing is that count will increase during the loop. So, it will be inserted each time at the end.

Consider a similar example in playground, with simple array, to see how it works:

var table = [1, 2, 3]
for i in 0...2 {
    print(table.count)
    table.insert(i + 100, at: table.count)
    print(table.count, table)
}

You get the following:

4 [1, 2, 3, 100]

5 [1, 2, 3, 100, 101]

6 [1, 2, 3, 100, 101, 102]

Hi! Why does the count increase during the loop? The original topChoices array is not touched. I guess topChoices.count should always return a constant value (number of elements in the array).

P.S. Your code example is clear.

Oops! My fault! I didn't pay enough attention to the clarification in the text:

«The index can be the count of the topChoices array. (If you supply a number that’s greater than the highest segment index, it just gets added to the end.)»

However it explains everything, as for me it's an unobvious shady behavior of "at". Moreover, it's strange to see such "hacks" in the book for beginners.