SpriteKit game map architecture

I’m pretty new to SpritKit, and am trying to figure out the best direction to take when creating the maps for a game I’ve started.

The maps are track-like... sometimes a road sometimes a tunnel, etc. I‘ve creates two levels so far, and they work great. They are currently giant 5000x5000 pixel images with a matching 5000x5000 pixel mask image overplayed and hidden for the collision detection. Performance is great, works like a charm. However, app size is my concern. The PNGs are pushing 8-10MB, and I fear the game will quickly turn into a needlessly large download as soon as I get a small handful of levels in there. They are very cartoonish and hopefully Xcode compression routines will go a long ways... however, would a tile based setup be better vs. a single monolithic image?

Some if these maps have an extreme amount of trees. The level that sparked my concern is a road going through a forest (top down and cartoony 2D). I know that I‘d save tons of space, and have a much smaller app package if I pieced the map together reusing a small handful of tree sprites all over the map vs. one giant 5000x5000 pixel image with the trees drawn on... but how will that perform? We’re talking 1000+ tree sprites vs. a single giant SKSpriteNode.

The giant image route is quick and easy to create levels, but not at the cost of my app being 2GB in the App Store 😟. Or will the PNG compression processing during the publishing step be extremely significant? If I go the individual sprites route I will likely need to take s step back and create a level editor and my own “map file” format... cause from what I’ve seen so far, the scene editor is not going to handle what I need to throw at it to do this.

Thanks!

Accepted Reply