Best way to improve code?

I’m new to Swift and I’m using Playgrounds to learn. When I solve a puzzle I often feel like my solution was sloppy or inefficient. Is there a better place to post my code for feedback? I figured I would start here and take suggestions greatfully. Thanks in advance! Below is my solution for Learning to Code 2, Types, Setting the Right Portal. I feel like it could be better...

var gemCounter = 0

pinkPortal.isActive = false

func collectRoutine() {

collectGem()

gemCounter += 1

bluePortal.isActive = false

}

func navigatePart1 () {

while gemCounter < 2 {

moveForward()

if isBlocked {

turnLeft()

turnLeft()

}

if isOnGem {

collectRoutine()

}

}

}

func navigatePart2 () {

while gemCounter < 4 {

moveForward()

if isBlocked {

turnLeft()

turnLeft()

}

if isOnGem {

collectGem()

gemCounter += 1

}

if gemCounter == 3 {

pinkPortal.isActive = true

}

}

}

navigatePart1()

bluePortal.isActive = true

navigatePart2()

Replies

You should do more decomposing/composing.

Try to analyze the problem and find a solution following this rules:

• Minimize at maximum code repetition.
  • Break the code in more little reusable functions that builds larger functions.
  • Try to use more specific names for your functiions, it helps in keeping track of your thoughts and build larger functions (routine or navigate is too generic). It also helps other to understand your code (foundamental for working in a team)
  • Be coherent with the function name when adding statements to the function.

For example, collectRoutine(). Calling it collectAndActivate() would be more intuitive. Or you can erase the portal part and call it collectAndCount(). It is also more reusable this way.