How to distinguish peripherals

I'm just starting out playing with Bluetooth. I have been able to identify my iMac using

func centralManager(_ central: CBCentralManager, didDiscover peripheral: CBPeripheral, advertisementData: [String : Any], rssi RSSI: NSNumber) {

print("Peripheral: \(peripheral)")

}

My Bluetooth mouse and keyboard are listed in the preferences as being discoverable as "my iMac". How, though, do I distinguish what is my iMac, mouse and keyboard? I see three unique identifiers, which should be them, but how do I tell which is which?

Peripheral: <CBPeripheral: 0x282fb8000, identifier = 71F3009D-565A-451D-B8BD-C0B6543487BC, name = Jonathan’s iMac, state = disconnected>

Peripheral: <CBPeripheral: 0x282fa4000, identifier = 71F3009D-565A-451D-B8BD-C0B6543487BC, name = Jonathan’s iMac, state = disconnected>

Peripheral: <CBPeripheral: 0x282fa4000, identifier = 71F3009D-565A-451D-B8BD-C0B6543487BC, name = Jonathan’s iMac, state = disconnected>

Peripheral: <CBPeripheral: 0x282fa01e0, identifier = 71F3009D-565A-451D-B8BD-C0B6543487BC, name = Jonathan’s iMac, state = disconnected>

Replies

Did you try:

func retrievePeripherals(withIdentifiers identifiers: [UUID]) -> [CBPeripheral]

for each CBPeripheral ask its name

let uuid = UUID("71F3009D-565A-451D-B8BD-C0B6543487BC")
let cb = retrievePeripherals(withIdentifiers identifiers: [uuid])[0]
let name = cb.name

Repeat with all identifiers

Is there anything special abut the UUID that you used above? Also, doesn't printing out the variable peripheral give me the name anyway? It still does not distinguish between my mouse and keyboard.

what do you get when you print name ?

I'm still learning Swift. The code below does not allow me to get past assigning "cb"

I am not sure if I am putting the retrievePeripherals in the correct place. Can you help me?

import UIKit

import CoreBluetooth

class ViewController: UIViewController, CBCentralManagerDelegate, CBPeripheralDelegate {