ARKit touch object to interact with it, is it possible?

Now, I am working on a project which allow users to interact with the 3D object when it is detected. After they interact with the 3D object, it would show another 3D object. Thank you so much if you could help 🙂

Replies

Hey,

So I'm just getting started with ARKit myself, but I've finished a game (almost), so I might be able to provide some insight.

(Please keep this in mind as all my methods may not be completely kosher)

Anyway, YES, you can interact with AR objects.

What's important to keep in mind is because you're still dealing with SK or SC Nodes, many of their methods work in the context of AR.

For Example:

touchesBegan: still tracks finger placements on the screen, allowing you to detect if a node is touched in the exact same way as you normally would in Spritekit or Scenekit.

You can also use a line like this to see if the node as at any particular point, area, or even off screen:

(In this particular case I'm testing if a node is dead center on screen (Typical Shooting Game Crosshair Situation))

SKNode *node = [self nodeAtPoint:CGPointZero];

The problem is, the context is a little different.

You may have noticed in the AR example that you basically have to ask for an ARAnchor in your Scene, but the ViewController actually defines the sprite.

This makes certain things like assigning actions awkward, because any selectors used would have to be in the view controller. (or you'd have to get them to execute selectors differently, but I honestly don't know how to do that correctly (perfectly) in this context (yet).

Garbage Collection gets a little trickier because ARAnchors have to be dealt with along with the SKNodes we add to them.

A simple method I used to get familiar with the situation was to simply pass along the name of the ARANchor identifier to the Sprite with the following line:

sprite.name = [anchor.identifier UUIDString];