Could not cast value of type 'SKSpriteNode' to CustomClass from .sks

Hi all,

This is my first attempt at a SpriteKit project and Swift so please bear with me.

I have a SpriteKit scene and I've added a sprite with a Custom Class 'Player', which subclasses SKSpriteNode. In my scene swift file I am trying to call the Player setup function but when I run the project I get the error "Could not cast value of type 'SKSpriteNode' to MyAppName.Player"

Here is the following code I'm using, nothing major at the moment:

Level.swift

import SpriteKit
class LevelOne: SKScene {

var thePlayer:Player = Player()

override func didMoveToView(view: SKView) {

if (self.childNodeWithName("Player") != nil) {

thePlayer = self.childNodeWithName("Player") as! Player
            thePlayer.setupPlayer()

}

}
... etc

Player.swift

import Foundation
import SpriteKit
class Player: SKSpriteNode {

func setupPlayer() {

print("this actually ran")

}
}

I've named my sprite 'Player' and added 'Player' as my Custom Class for the Sprite, but I get the can't cast error.

I'm using xCode 7.1.1 and I've also tried in 7.2 beta but still the same. I'm building in tvOS. I have an example project from a lesson which works and I've compared everything and there is no difference. I've looked at Targets and everything has been added as a Target to my project.

Any thoughts?

Regards

Paul

Accepted Reply

I'm not saying this is the correct answer but if I add my app name into the Module under Custom Class in the Inspector of the sks file when my sprite is selected, I now get it to build.

Surely I shouldn't need to add it to the Modules if it's targetted correctly???

Replies

Your code snippet is missing things that makes it hard to understand what you have/haven't coded and how it works....for example you don't acutally set the name property of Player in that code nor do you do scene.addChild(...) to add the sprite to the scene.